When do you Frog?

This past week, I made lots of I-cords so I could finish my set of 12 travel napkin/silverware holder-thingies.  Now that I’m done with the I-cords, I need to sew them on and then they will be done!  I’ll post some pics soon.

orange yellow icord circle

 


 

 

Then I started a cowl with some left over Caron Simply Soft I used for a baby blanket.

I’m surprised by how much I love the colors together, but I do.

berry blue and bone cowl

I’m using my 2-stranded cowl pattern only this time I didn’t start with a border of garter at the bottom. Rather I went right into the pattern rows, and I like how it turned out. This is the end of the good news.

Now, I am not great at eyeballing how far the yarn will get me on a pattern, and I ran out of the Berry Blue after about 8 rows of the section where I use 1 strand of each color. As you can see, I changed to 2 strands of the second color (Bone) and kept knitting.

I went back and forth about whether I wanted the 1 strand of each color section to be longer, as the pattern calls for and I’ve decided: I’m going to be frogging.

I bought an additional skein of Berry Blue at Michael’s and while I was at it, I wanted to make sure I had enough Bone, so I went to Joanne Fabrics.

berry blue bone cowl on black

Since this is a simple pattern and it’ll be relatively easy to make the change, I don’t mind ripping out a few rows.

What about you? What are your criteria for frogging? Do you choose not to frog if you only have 1 mistake? Does it depend on the difficulty of the pattern? Let’s discuss below.

Want to be first to see new posts and pattern deals? Subscribe here.

One thought on “When do you Frog?

Leave a Reply

