Creativity = Putting Things Together

I used to think that creativity meant starting with nothing and making it into something, like having a blank canvas and creating a beautiful painting or starting with nothing but a blob of clay and sculpting it into a masterpiece. I know now that artists don’t start with nothing; even if they are just starting with ideas or what they’ve seen and experienced before, that is something.

Knowing this has allowed me to learn that I am creative. I can take what I know, what I’ve seen, what I’ve experienced and combine those elements to come up with a new combination.

Here are the different elements that I’ve combined to come up with my two-strand cowl.

First, I considered the enthusiasm Ross from the Smells Like Yarn pod/video-cast has for a stitch pattern I created.  He first mentions my wavy checkerboard stitch pattern here (at 4:50),and he confesses that he can’t get enough of it here (at 9:38) and is obsessed with it here (at 9:25).

All the love has inspired me to see what besides washcloths, towels, and baby blankets may work in the wavy checkerboard stitch pattern.  Ross created a scarf (at 8:00) using the stitch pattern and I thought I’d try a cowl.

For my first attempt at a wavy checkerboard cowl, I used a variety of Caron Simply Soft colorways I had left over from a baby blanket.  I knit one cowl in 6 different colors (from cream to tan and coral to mint), and then I knit up another in 3 different blueish colorways Both turned out super-cute.

The cowls are a little thin, though, and I thought some people would prefer a thick cowl, so I decided I’d double up the yarn like I did when working up the Knit it Tonight Cowl by Margaret Wilson.

I took the number of stitches and needle size from Wilson’s cowl pattern. I changed the number of stitches to be divisible by 3 (which is what I needed for my stitch pattern). Finally, I cast on and knit like a fiend.

flat

The cast off of on my single strand cowl turned out a little tight even though I used larger needles, so I tried the twisted cast off.  Though a great technique, the twisted cast off wasn’t working well for my cowl, so I decided to go with this stretchy pass over bind off.  This worked a little better.

In short, I took some inspiration, did some trial and error, used info from a published pattern, grabbed a technique from a video, and my two stranded, somewhat bulky cowl is done.

If I write up this pattern, I’m going to need a name. I could go with Wavy Checkerboard Cowl, but I thought something snazzy would be more fun.  Any ideas you’d like to share?  Please put them in the comment box below.

Want to be first to see new posts and pattern deals? Subscribe here.

4 thoughts on “Creativity = Putting Things Together

  1. No idea why, but I see either really old ‘space invaders’ from the computer game, or else classical Ionic columns! I don’t suppose that is much help! Super finished project though. Happy Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

