I call a “Do Over”!

I dislike almost everything I knit–at first.  Eventually I come around and end up liking or even loving my projects.

I’m not sure why it’s not love at last stitch.  Maybe I need to just “get used to” the project.  I don’t know.

Here’s the latest project I’m not loving:

100_9139

I didn’t like the green and grey combination (Vanna’s Choice yarn), and the 4 quatrefoils are spaced out a little more towards the edge than I anticipated. Sjanova on Ravelry reminded me that the edges of a pillow don’t show as much as the middle. We usually think of pillows as flat squares, but they really have this bow shape that can obscure the ends.

Even as I’m looking at the picture above, though, I’m starting to like it a little bit more.


I think I didn’t love the green and grey because I loved this yellow and grey (in Loops & Threads Impeccable):

100_91511The yellow and grey I knit up, though, was too big for my 14 x 14 inch (356 x 356 mm) pillow form.


So I’m starting again . . . 100_91551

This time with 3 fewer columns and 6 fewer rows. I’m hoping it’ll fit another 14 x 14 inch pillow form I bought.

I’m hoping that I’ll love this final project.

Have you ever experienced this phenomenon where you dislike your finished project at first? Do you learn to love it?  Share your thoughts below!

 

Sign up to subscribe to my blog here.

4 thoughts on “I call a “Do Over”!

Leave a Reply

